Join Mary Beth Harrison on Wednesday, February 23 at 12:00pm 🏡 If you’re a homeowner or home buyer in Texas, you’ve probably heard of homestead exemptions 😎 A Texas homestead exemption is basically a tax break for qualifying homeowners. It’s one of the many perks of buying and owning a home in the Lone Star State.
You are invited to a Zoom webinar.
When: Feb 23, 2022 12:00 PM Central Time (US and Canada)
Topic: Dallas Native LIVE | Filing For Homestead Exemption?
Please click the link below to join the webinar:
Or One tap mobile :
US: +13462487799,,84549203961#,,,,*637758# or +16699009128,,84549203961#,,,,*637758#
Dial(for higher quality, dial a number based on your current location):
US: +1 346 248 7799 or +1 669 900 9128 or +1 253 215 8782 or +1 301 715 8592 or +1 312 626 6799 or +1 646 558 8656
Webinar ID: 845 4920 3961
International numbers available: https://us02web.zoom.us/u/kuWlB5H8X
HOMESTEAD EXEMPTION INSTRUCTIONS
1. If you bought a home in 2021 you will want to file homestead to lower your property tax from a nonexempt status.
2. If you bought or sold a home in 2021 you will need to use your closing disclosure to determine what can be deducted
from your Federal income taxes.
I will address each of these action items below:
As with any tax information, consult your tax professional for complete information
Filing Homestead Exemption
You must have owned your home on January 1, 2022 to file. You have until April 30, 2022 to complete the form and
you (or your mortgage company) will not see the result of this action until your bill comes out in November 2022. This
is a free service. Do not pay anyone or a company to do this for you. If you bought a home with an existing Homestead
on the home, you will have kept the existing homestead through 2022 but now you must apply in your name. Your
driver’s license must read the new address. You can do all of this, driver’s license and file homestead on line. Go to the
websites listed below, type in your address to confirm change of ownership, as well as, fill out the form needed to file
homestead exemption or print document and mail.
Texas Department of Public Safety
Collin County | 972.578.5200 | www.collincad.org
Dallas County | 214.631.0910 | www.dallascad.org
Denton County | 940.349.3800 | www.dentoncad.com
Ellis County | 972.937.3552 | www.elliscad.org
Rockwall County | 972.771.2034 | www.txcountydata.com
Tarrant County | 817.284.0024 | www.tad.org
Using information from the closing disclosure on you Federal Income Tax Return: Some of your closing costs might be
deductible on your federal income tax report. Consult your tax consultant on the items that can be used.
If you sold a home in 2021, you may remember giving the buyer your prorated share of your tax liability for 2021. The
closing disclosure is the only place you will find this information to use as a deduction on your taxes.
Under current law, there is no capital gains tax liability from sales profit of your primary home with the following
limits…Married couples can exclude up to $500,000 of gain when they sell their home and $250,000 for individual
homeowners. The home must have been your principal residence for at least 2 of the last 5 years.
Please contact us at 214-365-6500 or firstname.lastname@example.org.